top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Wright

The Biggest Fire in Boulder's History.

Saturday, October 17th, the biggest fire in Boulder County's history started. The Cal-Wood fire started around noon near Jamestown, Colorado. 3 days later 9,000 acres of forest have been burned. That Saturday, as I was driving to visit my Grandpa, smoke filled the sky. Plumes of smoke emerged from the canyon, and in a matter of minutes the blue in the sky was gone. People were pulling off the side of the highway to see the flames billowing out of the canyon that separates Boulder and Lyons. I was shocked at how fast the fire spread and how much smoke it produced. Because the plains are so dry and that day was particularly windy, the fire was thriving. In my whole life of living in Boulder I have never been that close to a fire. I live near NCAR and you could see the flames from my house. Fear overtook my family as we watched the fire spread. The fire is now 30% contained and firefighters continue to risk their lives to save homes around the area. The mass amount of fires in Colorado are 100% an affect of climate change. Our forests are incredibly dry and when lightning strikes the forest catches fire. This is not normal and we need to take a stand against climate change. This election is crucial for our environment. Send in your ballots and take a stand for our tomorrow.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page